Deleted transaction then telling me I've overspent

Whenever I delete a transaction from my credit card, it says that I've then "overspent" that amount and need to cover it from another category.... When technically I should actually now have that money in surplus. Does anyone know how to fix this?

It's for a transaction that didn't actually occur so I want to delete it off the credit card, but not if I have to then cover that money from another category :/

7replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • What category is overspent? The one assigned to the original transaction? Or your credit card payment category?

    Like
  • Credit card payment category

    Like
  • That's what I thought. It means that you likely made a credit card payment that was less than or equal to the amount the category said you had available, and when you deleted the transaction, the amount of your payment became larger than what was really available to make the payment because the amount of budgeted spending on the card was incorrect.

    Like
  • If you still use the card for purchases and aren't paying the statement balance in full every month, then you can let a future budgeted purchase (or more) on the card cover the overspending until it gets back over zero.

    If you do pay the statement balance in full every month, then you'll need to cover the overspending (and in fact the payment available should be the same as the balance on the card). It'll be up to you where to take it from.

    Like
  • Sorry if i'm not fully understanding, but if I delete a transaction off the card (As I didnt actually purchase what I put in), why would my payment become larger?

    If i leave the transaction on the card as it currently is, It says I dont owe anything. It is defying my logic for YNAB to give me the all clear for a transaction ive put in (but not  purchased), but to then actually owe money when I delete the transaction?

    Like
    • Aquamarine Tugboat For simplicity, say you have two CC transactions. One for $100 and one for $50. When you entered those transactions YNAB took $100 and $50 from the category  (or categories) the transactions were assigned to and moved those amounts to the CC payment category. So you pay the CC $150 at some point, now you go back and delete the $50 transaction and YNAB pulls $50 from the CC payment category and moves it back to the category you just canceled the transaction in. You already paid the CC $150, but just pulled $50 from the category, so YNAB is telling you that you sent the CC $50 to much and the CC payment category is overspent $50.

      Like
  • Hi Aquamarine Tugboat ,

    It's been a few days so I just wanted to check in to see how this is going. I'm going to go ahead and mark your topic as Answered but feel free to tag one of us in this thread if you're still having trouble! 

    Like
Like Follow
  • Status Answered
  • 2 yrs agoLast active
  • 7Replies
  • 610Views
  • 5 Following