PERMANENTLY deleting accounts

I'm not meaning "closing accounts" - I want to remove them from the Closed Account list. Is this possible?

9replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • I solved it myself

    Like 1
    • Maroon Admiral Helen Sorry for the delay in response! I'm going to list an answer here just in case someone else roaming the forums has the same question! :)

      To delete an account, you have to first delete all of the transactions in the account (or move them to a different account.) Keep in mind that deleting past transactions might bring the rest of your Budget out of balance!

      To delete/move transactions:
      - Select all of the transactions.
      - Go to the Edit menu.
      - Choose to Move or Delete them.

      Now, you’re ready to delete the account:
      - Hover over the name of the account to activate the edit icon.
      - Click the edit icon.
      - Click Delete Account.

       

      Here's how to delete an account in the mobile app. 

      Like
      • David L.
      • lindenator
      • 2 yrs ago
      • 1
      • Reported - view

      Faness Thank you! 

      Like 1
    • Powder Blue Disk I'm happy that helped! :)

      Like
      • RIP_MSMoney
      • Software Developer at Microsoft
      • rip_ms_money
      • 2 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      Faness Your directions were helpful but a few questions. I am closing an account that has an ending balance. I am transferring that balance to another account. When I move the transactions everything moves but the final transfer to the new account (which is where the transactions were also moved). At that point the closed account's balance is negative the transfer balance. So I delete that transfer from the closed account and the account balance is now $0 (good). The problem is that the "moved to account" is off by the transfer amount. It almost seems like the "starting balance" is not moving to the new account. Is there a policy on how to correct this issue as well?

      Do I need to make a "phony" deposit of the transferred amount? How do I do that without assigning a category?

      Do I need to edit the "moved to" account and change the "todays balance" to account for the transfer? How does that affect when the transfer gets imported with my bank?

      Thanks

      Like
      • WordTenor
      • Can we agree that goals are dumb and immature? Sure.
      • WordTenor
      • 2 yrs ago
      • 2
      • Reported - view

      @RIP_MSMoney  You can't delete the transfer because the transfer funded the other account. Is this an actual account that you've used? If so, you shouldn't be moving transactions at all. Make the transfer, and then close the account. You shouldn't put transactions that didn't happen in an given account in that account. 

      Like 2
      • RIP_MSMoney
      • Software Developer at Microsoft
      • rip_ms_money
      • 2 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      So dont get rid of closed accounts? Yes, it was a real account. I consolidated accounts to simplify the budget process. The only transfer that would not move was the final one which was the transfer of the ending balance. The problem is the destination and source would become the same with the move. I was wanting/desiring not to have the closed account left around.

      Like
      • WordTenor
      • Can we agree that goals are dumb and immature? Sure.
      • WordTenor
      • 2 yrs ago
      • 2
      • Reported - view

      RIP_MSMoney Right. If it was a real account and you really did use it, it needs to remain in YNAB and you can't remove it. YNAB needs to reflect reality. When its balance is zero, you can close it in YNAB, which keeps it part of your budget but removes it from the list of active accounts. 

      If you want a budget without that account, you can Fresh Start and delete the account then, as it will have no transactions. But that obliterates your history. 

      Like 2
    • RIP_MSMoney Sorry for the confusion here! The original post specifically asked how to Delete the account and Not close it - which requires the account to be empty. If the account has history, it's better to Close it, as WordTenor mentioned. :)

      Like
Like1 Follow
  • Status Answered
  • 1 Likes
  • 2 yrs agoLast active
  • 9Replies
  • 4771Views
  • 3 Following