YNAB4 and Dropbox pop up error

I'm sticking with YNAB4 because managing mother's finances requires the check number column.  It's working great and syncs with Dropbox properly across my devices.  But sometimes I get a popup message:  Remove ".ynabSettings.yroot" from your Dropbox account and all devices?  If you move this file to $Deleted, it won't be available in Dropbox or on any devices.  I have no idea what this means.  I always hit "cancel".   I think the message comes from Dropbox but always opens when I open a YNAB account.

Does anyone else get this message and know what it means?

2replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • It does sound like it's coming from Dropbox. You might make a copy of that file for backup and then let it delete it. ASAIK, it holds the name of the last budget opened and isn't critical. YNAB should recreate it if needed. (If you do have issues, just restore from the copy you made.)

    In fact, I suspect YNAB wants it deleted (and will write a new version afterward), but your Dropbox is somehow configured with a delete confirmation.

    Like
  • Ah thank you!  I will try that.

    Like
Like Follow
  • 3 wk agoLast active
  • 2Replies
  • 36Views
  • 2 Following