Locking an archived budget

I've started afresh and am keeping my old budget only for reporting purposes.  Is there a way to lock it so that I don't accidentally add new transactions to it?  It doesn't have any linked accounts.

3replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Hi John Green ! Currently, it isn't possible to lock an archived budget. I do have a few tips to help prevent accidentally making changes to the old one:

    • Rename your budget with something unique to easily tell the difference between the two.
    • Under My Account, you can enable the setting to use your most recently-used budget by default when you login to the web app.
    • If you use a bookmark, make sure it's set to http://app.youneedabudget.com and not a specific budget, or month.
    • Make sure you're logged into the new budget on your mobile device. The mobile app will always open the last budget you accessed, so when you start a new budget—it's good to double check!

    I hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.

    Like 1
  • Thanks  Nicole, I didn't know about the setting to open the most recently-used budget by default.  That was off on my account.  And I'm giving the archive a special name like "ARCHIVE to 2019". 🙂

    Like 1
    • Vibrant
    • No more counting dollars, we'll be counting stars
    • vibrant
    • 1 yr ago
    • 1
    • Reported - view

    I think the key  steps to preserving your old budget as a "snapshot" of how everything looked when you stopped using it are: 

    1) unlink accounts (sounds like that's done) and

    2) delete all scheduled transactions. If you've set up a recurrence, those suckers will just keep populating even if you're not approving them. 

    Like 1
Like Follow
  • Status Answered
  • 1 yr agoLast active
  • 3Replies
  • 119Views
  • 3 Following