shall I close the account?

Hello!

Hi Guys. I wanted to ask before I do any harm to my budget.
SO I am happy to say that I have stopped using one of my credit cards. I have paid it full and I would love to get rid of it. I have cancelled it in my bank but I don't what to do with it in YNAB. I just don't want to see it anymore.
I know I can use the CLOSE ACCOUNT button but I am scared to do it because of the notification you can see on the picture. I would love to avoid ruining my budget which I have been running for few years now. 

PLEASE ADVISE.

thank you

7replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • That's really bad wording. Matthew maybe something for the devs to look at here?

    What it wants is for you to make sure you don't have any pending or scheduled transactions as those will continue to fire even if the account is closed. If there are no such transactions, and the account balance is 0, you are safe to close it. It will move to a separate part of your accounts list. 

    Like
      • Annieland
      • I was told there would be no math.
      • Annieland
      • 3 wk ago
      • Reported - view

      WordTenor For the longest time I had a ton of unused old accounts in my accounts sidebar because I didn't understand "Close" really meant Hide.  I was always asking for a Hide Accounts option and I felt really dumb when I finally figured it out.

      Like
      • nolesrule
      • Been waiting 5 years for the Stealing From the Future fix...
      • nolesrule
      • 3 wk ago
      • Reported - view

      WordTenor wow. yeah, that's poorly worded.

      But I think it also refers to the fact if you want to see a Delete button, it can't have any transactions in the account, which is true. So really it's telling you 2 things the wrong way.

      Instead it should explain that Closing and account is not deleting it, but you'll want to remove Scheduled transactions since they can pop into the register. Maybe add "Want to Delete the account?" with a hyperlink to more detailed documentation.

      Like
      • Herman
      • herman
      • 3 wk ago
      • 1
      • Reported - view

      WordTenor looks to me like that wording is for the 'delete' option and a different warning like you describe is needed for the close account button.

      Like 1
      • WordTenor
      • Can we agree that goals are dumb and immature? Sure.
      • WordTenor
      • 3 wk ago
      • Reported - view

      Herman Yeah I just noticed on the reread this morning that it says “delete.” Bad UI. This warning should only appear if the person is trying to delete. And a warning definitely should appear about scheduled transactions continuing to fire...I remember a person on Reddit or FB who had a five-figure discrepancy because of that (and because they weren’t paying attention)

      Like
      • Herman
      • herman
      • 3 wk ago
      • Reported - view

      WordTenor I've had it happen too but didn't take long to know something was wrong and track it down because I'm obsessive like that 🤷‍♂️

      Like
  • I'm checking with the developers about this—I agree that it's scary and confusing!

    Like 1
Like Follow
  • 3 wk agoLast active
  • 7Replies
  • 207Views
  • 7 Following