Can You Keep Direct Connect Active in Old Budget After Fresh Start?

I want to play with a whole different organization scheme for my categories without committing to it, and run my budget each way for about month. The barrier has been not wanting to set up all my direct connections again. I have A LOT of accounts. I see that Fresh Starts allow you to keep your direct connections in the new budget. However, the help docs don't state whether the old budget's connections will be cleared in that process. It mentions that the old budget will be archived and available for reference, but I want to be able to keep using it while we decide whether we like our new strategy. Has anyone successfully done this?
 

8replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Hi nettle !

    Great question! After you do a Fresh Start, your Direct Import connections will remain on both budgets.  The connections apply to your YNAB account. They will be there until you remove them, or delete your account.

    If you happen to remove/re-add a connection in the current budget, that will remove the connection in the archived budget (and vice versa). The connection will still be available in the archived budget, but the accounts would need to be linked again.

    Let me know if you have any other questions!

    Reply Like
  • Am I understanding correctly that the direct connection can NOT be maintained in both budgets? In that case this is not a good option for me.

    Reply Like
      • chahan
      • chahan
      • 2 mths ago
      • Reported - view

      nettle 

      Nicole at YNAB said:
      will remain on both budgets.

      Reply Like
      • nettle
      • nettle.1
      • 2 mths ago
      • Reported - view

      chahan That's how I originally read it, but the second paragraph confused me. 

      Reply Like
      • chahan
      • chahan
      • 2 mths ago
      • 3
      • Reported - view

      nettle If you have two budgets, connection will be maintained in both. 

       

      If, at any point you make a change (remove or re-add a connection) in one of the 2 budgets, then the connection in the other budget will be unlinked and you will be required to link them back again. 

      I believe that is what Nicole at YNAB was trying to say.

      Reply Like 3
    • chahan You are exactly right! :) 

      Reply Like 1
  • Thanks for confirming!

    Reply Like
    • nettle Sorry for the confusion! 😂

      Reply Like
Like Follow
  • 2 mths agoLast active
  • 8Replies
  • 60Views
  • 4 Following